FREINDS REUNITED

F:A:O Hugh Hainey, I have some good news from the poem that you wrote …” A TIME TO REFLECT”

Hugh Hainey wrote a poem for Historic Hamilton on the 15/12/2015 and the poem was this:

“A time to reflect, (with hope to make it right)

When ever i see a bully, i try to teach them a lesson,
This story is about me, it’s by way of my confession,

I can’t forget a fight with my friend, red is all i see,
There was a rotten bully, and it turned out to be me.

There were loads of other kids, shouting eggin” us on,
I looked into his eyes, i knew our friendship it was gone,

The shame i felt after, when they pulled us both apart,
To see the look on my friends face, realy broke my heart,

His family emigrated to Canada, it was around 1964,
Why oh why did i not go round and knock upon his door,
If I’d only said sorry, maybe we could be friends once more,

50yrs and i still cant forget, the one thing in life i realy do regret,,,

Historic Hamilton, I’d love to find this wee man,
If anyone can do it you and yir readers can.
His name is Danny Dominic, he left 50 odd years ago,
He moved from Hillhouse, to Hamilton Ontario,

Any information, or if anyone knows where he’s at,
Will you please say sorry, from a stupid auld scots pratt””

Hugh, I contacted a couple of websites in Canada and I am pleased to tell you that I have found your old pal Danny Dominic….

Danny wrote back to us and said:

“I received your correspondence this week regarding the poem written by one of your members Hugh Hainey, I would like to confirm that I am the individual Daniel Dominick that Hugh is looking for as I remember that day 50 years ago well enough. Please have Hugh reach out to me thru this email address would be happy to re connect.

Dan Dominick
289 339 4879
danjed4@gmail.com

Hugh, Thank you for sending your poem to Historic Hamilton, As always your poems are fantastic to read, and please let us know if you & Daniel have put everything behind you.

I wish the both of you all the very best.

Admin

Leave a Reply

