Your Local Pub.

Alex Hosie was telling us about all the Burnbank pubs that he drank in. Alex wrote:
 
“Before clubs were invented, these are the pubs I remember in Burnbank (and I was in every one of them, so yer lucky I can still remember anything!) –
 
The Golden Feathers
The Club Bar
The Thistle Bar
The Clansman
The Enfield (a door on each street, Glasgow Road and High Blantyre Road)
The Earnock Vaults (the Tap Shop)
The Victoria Bar (Duffy’s)
The Greenfield Bar (Peter Smith’s)
Flannigan’s Bar
The Empire (still there)
The Glenlee (still there)
 
Hope I’ve not forgotten any in my auld age!”
 
What was your local pub and tell us your stories of the shenanigans that went on?
pub1-1pub-1-2pub-1-3
3 thoughts on “Your Local Pub.”

  1. The Auld Hoose was the fulcrum of a Scottish,never mind Hamilton,pub.
    The atmosphere was convivial, the bar staff professional. They pulled a pint of ordinary and patiently let it swirl to a perfect heid before sliding it enticingly toward the droothy customer.
    No less was The Ranche where big Alec ruled with a rod of iron clothed in warm common sense. But then I’m prejudiced, being a Quarter man, which brings me to the Belerophon……

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This might sound a bit strange from an Englishman but my late Wife May & I to have some terrific Friday Nights & Saturday nights in and around most of the Pubs in Burnbank over the years . Historic Hamilton as given me and my Family some great memories since she passed away in March 2016. Again Thank You . Regards Andy Loughlin. P.S. My late Wife lived at No3 Seaton Terrace her name before we were married was May Brown

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

